2018 Killinchy GP

Published by admin on

On Saturday 7th April Killinchy Cycling club ran their 2nd Road race event over the drumlins in the Killinchy area, whilst the hills put a few people off it didn’t stop the brave coming on a grey misty morning to fight for the Balloo Cup won by Lindsay Watson of Powerhouse last year.

The race was handicapped A1/2 riders with a neutralised roll out to safely get all riders down and round the small village of Balloo safely, it was originally planned as a 3 minute handicap but turned out to be 2 mins 10 seconds which is all the A2 riders needed as they pushed the gap out even further in the first lap. With the likes of Buller, Downey and Henry putting the hurt on the rest of the A2 there was a split in the group which would never be closed with the 5 going on to finish top 5 in the race with John Buller (Banbridge Cycling Club) winning the Balloo Inns Cup. Unfortunately our A1 rider Andy McCullough, along with the rest of the A1’s wasn’t able to catch the A2’s with the majority of A1 retiring before completing the cruel course of hills.

We also had A3 and A4 categories on the day with KCC A3 riders Phil Doyle & Michael Harkin , A4 riders Keith Young, Darren Rice and Richard Gaffikin pinning on their race numbers for the day. Along with woman’s league race it turned out to be a great days racing all around!

Prize Money and Cup sponsored by Balloo Inns (Balloo house- Killinchy, Poachers Pocket- Lisbane, Parsons nose- Hillsborough)

A1/2 race neutral service sponsored by Chain Reaction Store Belfast.

We would like to thank all the riders for their support, also our sponsors Poachers Pocket/Balloo Inns , Chain Reaction Cycles and supporters Johnson’s Coffee. But the day wouldn’t have been possible without the help of the Killinchy CC members and non members who turned out in big numbers to marshal the course, moto marshal, help sign on, catering, clear up etc.  And of course race director Drew for all the prep work.  Another proud day for the club!

Main Race Results:
John Buller Banbridge CC
Ethan Downey Clann Eireann
Donal Shearer Phoenix CC
Stuart Henry North Down
Gary Walker Team Madigan
Larry McCullough Team Madigan
Mark Heather Clontarf CC
Adam Cunningham VC Mourne
Niall Morris Phoenix CC
Niall O’Gorman Phoenix CC

Ladies results:
Laura Wylie Maryland Wheelers
Clodagh Gallagher AAA
Julie Rea Phoenix CC
Beata Golczak Arcane Cycling Team
Samantha Convery Carn Wheelers
Jennifer Holmes Phoenix CC
Julie mulligan Strule Wheelers
Patricia White Spires CC

A3 results:
Shay Donley NRPT-Chill Insurance
Jack Ferguson Dromara CC
Andrew Hicks Newry Wheelers
Nathan Keown North Down CC
Mark McGinley Four Masters
Conor Halvey NRPT-Chill Insurance
Daniel Graham Mellow Velo
Conal Magee Phoenix CC
P Rogan Phoenix CC
Eoghan Magee Phoenix

A4 results:
Danny O’Connor VC Glendale
Roman Sarvas Ards CC
Geoff Alderdice Dromore CC
Kyle Wethers Dromore CC
Brian McLornan Shimna Wheelers
Stuart McCaughey Phoenix CC
Brian Hannon Banbridge CC
David Armstrong Dromara CC
Eoin Ferriter Drogheda Wheelers
Barry Patton Keevan CC

Thanks to the Belguim Project for their support and photos .

Categories: Uncategorized